Sam Millar - Saturday Night

Published Wednesday 4th August 2010
Sam Millar - Saturday Night
Sam Millar - Saturday Night

STYLE: Country
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 88605-16370
PRICE: £8.95

Add To Basket

Reviewed by Paul Kerslake

This is Sam Millar's second album with the Irish singer/songwriter decamping to Nashville to record it. The school caretaker was able to do this thanks to money raised by the pupils and parents from his school. The album theme and title, 'Saturday Night', is supposed to run through the emotions and activities of a Saturday night. The 12 tracks are all self-penned with the exception of the Johnny Nash classic "I Can See Clearly Now" and cover all bases from up tempo foot stomping country rock to sensitive and sincere ballads. The whole album is well recorded and produced with Nashville players demonstrating some great musicianship. Sam's voice fits the country genre perfectly and it is clear that he has spent many years developing his craft, both as a singer and a writer. Nothing much of a spiritual nature in these songs though Sam is a believer.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Saturday Night [Listen]
2. Diamond Love [Listen]
3. At The Funfair [Listen]
4. Getting Nowhere [Listen]
5. Just Give Me One Beautiful Girl On A Horse With Some Lemonade [Listen]
6. Thank You Very Much [Listen]
7. House Full Of Love [Listen]
8. I Can See Clearly Now [Listen]
9. Somebody's In Love [Listen]
10. You Lied I Cried [Listen]
11. Temptation My Heart [Listen]
12. Gypsies [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.