Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 4: See & Touch & Hear

Sunday 1st August 1999
Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 4: See & Touch & Hear
Sammy Horner - Celtic Praise Vol 4: See & Touch & Hear

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8

Reviewed by James Stewart

Sammy Horner's taste for authentic Celtic imagery never seems to decline, and here we have the fourth in his popular Celtic Worship series. Sammy is joined here by a range of guests, including Vigilantes Of Love, Split Level's Adrian Thompson, Shona MacDonald and even his own daughter. The songs manage to convey energy through many changes of tempo, from the fiddle-driven opener, to the mandolin-led jigs and to the more contemplative rendition of Vigilantes of Love's 'Double Cure'. All the musicians are of the highest class, and while the songs jump around stylistically the production is consistently classy while retaining plenty of rootsy spirit. On each album in this series Sammy has chosen to highlight one feature of Celtic society and its relevance to the Gospel. On this outing it's the 'rath' or family enclosure, which is used as an image of the protection to be found in God's hands. Some may be tired of the never-ending stream of Celtic worship albums, but this one has a freshness that sets it apart from many of its more generic shelf-mates.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. There Is One [Listen]
2. The Rath Of God [Listen]
3. Todd's Big Day [Listen]
4. See And Touch And Hear [Listen]
5. Children Go Where I Send Thee [Listen]
6. Will Ye Come [Listen]
7. When I Think Of Heaven [Listen]
8. So You Are [Listen]
9. Lonesome Boatman [Listen]
10. Paul's Song [Listen]
11. Liturgy [Listen]
12. Like You [Listen]
13. The Tears In His Eyes [Listen]
14. The Honeythieves-Miss House [Listen]
15. My Jesus I Love Thee [Listen]
16. Psalm 23 [Listen]
17. Double Cure [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room