Sandi Patty - 2: Falling Forward/Songs For The Journey

Published Thursday 16th June 2011
Sandi Patty - 2: Falling Forward/Songs For The Journey
Sandi Patty - 2: Falling Forward/Songs For The Journey

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 104193-17877
LABEL: Fair Trade Services 000768495322
RELEASE DATE: 2011-02-08
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Simon Eden

Timewarp! This is a double CD re-packaging of the inspirational singer's 28th album 'Falling Forward' (2007) and her 29th 'Songs For The Journey' (2008) so is a taster of Sandi's prolific back catalogue. The timewarp is not so much that the music includes lyrics from St Thomas Aquinas ("Panis Angelicus" - an operatic duet with Don Peslis) or a version of Beethoven's "Ode To Joy (Joyful, Joyful)", or the classic Irish hymn "Be Thou My Vision". I was wondering if anyone still knows what it is like to call up an operator to verbally ask them to connect a phone call as described in Bill Spivery's "Operator" gospel song from the 1950s? It's not all like that, as the first track on "Falling Forward" is the more contemporary Hillsong "Made Me Glad (I Will Bless The Lord)". In general, both albums come over as being in a formula that hasn't really changed in decades. Patti has a big voice with a big backing choir and big Americana orchestration that give her performances a polished Broadway style atmosphere.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Made Me Glad [Listen]
2. Sing To The King [Listen]
3. Falling Forward [Listen]
4. Sweeter Medley- Sweeter, You Are Good, Blessed Be Your Name [Listen]
5. Step Into The Joy [Listen]
6. In My Heart [Listen]
7. Found [Listen]
8. Sandi Medley- Upon This Rock, In The Name Of The Lord [Listen]
9. You Call Me Yours [Listen]
10. Grace Flows Down [Listen]
11. Praise To The Lord, The Almighty [Listen]
12. Through It All [Listen]
13. Be Thou My Vision [Listen]
14. My Tribute [Listen]
15. Operator [Listen]
16. For Good (feat. Sheila Walsh) [Listen]
17. Were It Not For Grace [Listen]
18. Joyful, Joyful [Listen]
19. Panis Angelicus [Listen]
20. You Call Me Yours [Listen]
21. Savior Medley- Savior Like A Shepherd Lead Us - Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus - 'Tis So Sweet To Trust [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
2 Series is a great-value package which includes two of Sandi Patty’s much-loved CDs, Falling Forward and Songs For The Journey.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

xRhythms launches!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room