Scribbling Idiots - Invitation Only: Mixtape By DJ Aslan

Published Tuesday 13th May 2014
Scribbling Idiots - Invitation Only: Mixtape By DJ Aslan
Scribbling Idiots - Invitation Only: Mixtape By DJ Aslan

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 150375-21909
LABEL: Illect

Reviewed by Steve Hayes

The wonderfully named Idiots return with a mixtape, available on cassette no less, which is a boom bap-tastic offering mixed by the talented DJ Aslan. This is underground "backpacker" boom-bap hip-hop at its most meticulous. If you don't know yet about this American collective, the core Scribblers are JustMe, CasMetah, Theory Hazit, Wonder Brown with, this time, Elias, Jaq, MattmaN, Motion Plus, Mouth Warren, muszeONE, Re:Flex The Architect and Ruffian adding their considerable talents. The mixtape itself features even more top MCs including Playdough, Jurny Big, Manchild, Red Cloud, Sintax the Terrific, Sev Statik, CookBook, Knowdaverbs, Sojourn and even KJ-52 making a brief appearance. This project is cut, scratched and mixed up with true hip-hop freshness and is lyrically dextrousness and often reaches heights that few independent underground projects can but hope for. If you'd rather head underground than overground in your hip-hop mission, this is the place to park up.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Got That Hunger (ftg. KJ-52, Theory Hazit, JustMe & EF Cuttin) [Listen]
2. Old Heads (ftg. MuzeONE, Wonder Brown & BlackBolt) [Listen]
3. Watch Out (ftg. Ruslan, Shames Worthy, Playdough, Re-Flex The Architect & DJ Aslan) [Listen]
4. The Goon Docks (ftg. Cas Metah, Adan Bean & Sintax The Terrific) [Listen]
5. She Got Me (ftg. Elias, Ruffian & Sintax The Terrific) [Listen]
6. Here We Go (ftg. Listener, Mouf Warren & EF Cuttin) [Listen]
7. Let's All Get Down (ftg. MotionPlus, CookBook, NomiS & Sivion) [Listen]
8. New Man (ftg. Cas Metah, Wonder Brown, Reach & EF Cuttin) [Listen]
9. Nothing To Prove (ftg. Capture, Sundance, JustMe, Sean P & DJ Aslan) [Listen]
10. Might As Well (ftg. Sintax The Terrific, Mouf Warren, Urlybyrd & Mike B) [Listen]
11. Pass It (ftg. Freddie Bruno, JustMe, MuzeONE, Jurny Big, Griffin & EF Cuttin) [Listen]
12. Shoulda Coulda Woulda's (ftg. Mouf Warren, Legal Alien, Ruffian, Knowdaverbs & Cash Hollistah) [Listen]
13. Journey On (ftg. BlackBolt, Elias, K-Drama & Sev Statik) [Listen]
14. Thankful (ftg. Wonder Brown, D-Minor, Ozay Moore & MotionPlus) [Listen]
15. Victorious (ftg. Red Cloud, Cas Metah, Playdough, Sojourn, Manchild & Jurny Big) [Listen]
16. Last But Not Least (ftg. Theory Hazit, Magestik Legend, Propaganda & DJ Efechto) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.