Sho Baraka - Turn My Life Up

Published Thursday 23rd October 2008
Sho Baraka - Turn My Life Up
Sho Baraka - Turn My Life Up

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 48661-14676
LABEL: Reach 829569804429
RELEASE DATE: 2008-07-31
PRICE: £9.97 RRP £12.99

Add To Basket

Reviewed by Steve Hayes

The thoughtful and creative Sho Baraka has synthesised a challenging and quality project, where hip-hop meets thinking meets the Bible meets the street. Sho was brought up in South California where he met hip-hop at a young age and found redemption in education and Jesus from the streets at college. The life of faith is given musical expression on different levels through the album - from the album info ("We are the boombox of heaven") - through to the lyrics. In the rolling and challenging "Music Of Life" Sho encourages us that "we live by different beat" - loving God and loving our brother. "Overrated" is a brilliant, powerful insight and check on US priorities and how things have been messed up, "the youngest can quote 50 Cent but can't count to 50 cents" with Sho demonstrating considerable wit. In "Great Day II Die", Baraka verbalises the need to die daily and die to self - with a ragga styled hook bringing some variation. An uplifting and creative track is "Slow It Down" which needs to be heard to be appreciated, as with the "Oh My Lord" - which both demonstrate why hip-hop is an essential music and voice in society. An inspiring project with top-quality lyricism, beats and production.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Turn My Life Up [Listen]
2. Interlude The Calling [Listen]
3. Music Of Life [Listen]
4. Overrated [Listen]
5. Rebuild The City [Listen]
6. Maranatha [Listen]
7. Saint [Listen]
8. Great Day II Die [Listen]
9. Catch Me At The Brook [Listen]
10. Higher Love [Listen]
11. Slow It Down [Listen]
12. Oh My Lord [Listen]
13. Love Of My Life [Listen]
14. 100 [Listen]
15. God Is Like-Who Is Like God [Listen]
16. Rescue Me-You Are My Everything [Listen]
17. Track 17 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.