Since October - This Is My Heart

Published Wednesday 3rd September 2008
Since October - This Is My Heart
Since October - This Is My Heart

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 45978-14477
LABEL: Tooth & Nail 5099951671921
RELEASE DATE: 2008-06-06

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Paul S Ganney

This CD should come with a health warning along the lines of "will attempt to rip your speakers off the wall." It opens with a gentle instrumental that could lull the unsuspecting into a false sense of tranquillity before the guitars shred their way into "My Heart" and set the precedent for what is to follow. There's a great similarity with Fall Out Boy (especially in terms of vocal delivery) but it doesn't suffer at all for the comparison. If anything, Since October have a bit more energy - probably more in the Sum 41 area, but a bit more "metal" (maybe Evanescence-ish, but with a male vocal). Highlights? Too many, too many. "Guilty", with its chorus of "If I was innocent, would you take the blame for me?" hit one of them, for sure. Whilst not wishing just to list every track on the CD (there's not a duff one here - apart from (maybe) the opening instrumental and the first part of "Waiting") "Live To Die" deserves mention, just for the way it reaches out and grabs your attention with a perfectly-balanced mix of vocals and band, and "Everything" for a cracking tone-setting intro. Probably the best Christian rock CD I've heard this year.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Emily [Listen]
2. My Heart [Listen]
3. Beautiful [Listen]
4. Disaster [Listen]
5. In This Moment [Listen]
6. Guilty [Listen]
7. World To Me [Listen]
8. Live To Die [Listen]
9. Follow Me Down [Listen]
10. Waiting [Listen]
11. Everything [Listen]
12. Part Of Me [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.