Starfield - Starfield

Wednesday 1st September 2004
Starfield - Starfield
Starfield - Starfield

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
LABEL: Sparrow SPD95989R
RELEASE DATE: 2004-06-18
RRP: £12.99

Reviewed by Simon Eden

"The whole earth is filled with your glory Lord; in my heart there's a fire burning.may you be honoured and glorified." What an introduction to an album! Starfield is a Canadian acoustic pop rock band comprised of brothers Tim and Jon Neufeld, along with John Andrews and Shaun Huberts. This is their first mainstream release, having previously put together two independent albums, one of which won them the Prairie Music Award for best Christian album. If they missed out on a Canadian Grammy last time, they must be certain to win with this. Their goal is to reach the lost with the hope of Jesus while being as real and as relevant as possible - to lift Jesus up so that he is impossible to ignore. They have really succeeded in meeting their desire to produce a worship album with the musical standards of the mainstream. The style is noticeably similar to that of Chris Tomlin, possibly because of the use of the same producer, Matt Bronleewe, although there are tinges of Steven Curtis Chapman in the vocals. It is probable that Starfield will become a name that is familiar to many of us.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Filled With Your Glory (Prelude) [Listen]
2. Filled With Your Glory [Listen]
3. Love Break Me [Listen]
4. Revolution [Listen]
5. Alive In This Moment [Listen]
6. Tumbling After [Listen]
7. Outstreched Hands [Listen]
8. Ordinary Life [Listen]
9. Over My Head [Listen]
10. Can I Stay Here Forever [Listen]
11. All For You [Listen]
12. Cry In My Heart [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.