Starflyer 59 - Starflyer 59 Gold: Extended Edition

Published Saturday 18th March 2006
Starflyer 59 - Starflyer 59 Gold: Extended Edition
Starflyer 59 - Starflyer 59 Gold: Extended Edition

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 14195-11037
LABEL: Tooth & Nail TND77628
RELEASE DATE: 2005-09-01
RRP: £1.99

Reviewed by Jonathan Langley

Like 1994's 'Silver' reissue, this repackage of the band's 1995 album features remastered sound and bonus tracks. The additional material on here are tracks from the "Goodbyes Are Sad" single and the 'Le Vainqueur' EP. Completists will no doubt swoon over this collector's item but anyone looking for some fresh, less formulaic rock invention may want to investigate. The Encyclopedia Of Contemporary Christian Music by Mark Allan Powell reckoned Starflyer 59 to be "one of the most original, creative and accomplished groups to be making music in either the Christian or general markets through (the '90s)" which is clearly OTT hyperbole but the band with their wall of sound guitars and gentle vocals over the drone of the music does have its own appeal. Laden with contradictions like being loud but soft, upbeat yet melancholy, old-school yet more cutting edge than most current acts, this music is never going to get any but the most rock elitist parties started, but the more you listen, the more you find to love.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. A Housewife Love Song [Listen]
2. Duel Overhead Cam [Listen]
3. When You Feel Miserable [Listen]
4. You're Mean [Listen]
5. Stop Wasting Your Whole Life - Messed Up And Down [Listen]
6. Messed Up Over You [Listen]
7. When You Feel The Mess [Listen]
8. Somewhere When Your Heart Glowed The Hope [Listen]
9. Indiana [Listen]
10. Do You Ever Feel That Way [Listen]
11. One Show Juanita [Listen]
12. Next Time Around [Listen]
13. Goodbyes Are Sad [Listen]
14. When No One Calls (It Will Be Alright) [Listen]
15. The Starflyer 2000 Reprise [Listen]
16. Le Vainqueur [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.