Stephen Hurd - My Destiny: I Know What I'm Here For

Published Monday 26th March 2007
Stephen Hurd - My Destiny: I Know What I'm Here For
Stephen Hurd - My Destiny: I Know What I'm Here For

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 20945-11669
LABEL: Integrity Gospel 39442
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Surely and steadily Stephen Hurd has risen to become a major name in contemporary gospel. In these post-Ron Kenoly days he's one of the growing number of gospel artists who've taken traditional gospel and brought to it a congregation-exhorting praise and worship style. Stephen's vocals are largely limited to shouted encouragements and interjections a la Kirk Franklin which, in truth, can get wearing over an entire album. Having said that, the whole praise performance, recorded live at the Temple Of Praise, Washington is hugely atmospheric, the band are funky and super-tight and the singing, largely provided by the Steven Ford Singers (only credited in the sleeve small print) are excellent. It's also great to hear the soulful guest vocalist Maurette Brown-Clark on "Destiny". If you're looking for atmospheric, gospel worship and don't mind lyrics that seldom get beyond statements like "I feel like shoutin' and praisin' the Lord" and "I want to praise him, worship his name," this will do you fine.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Introduction [Listen]
2. Prelude Of Praise [Listen]
3. Great Praise (The War Cry) [Listen]
4. Great Praise (The War Cry) (Reprise) [Listen]
5. The Glory Chant [Listen]
6. Todah [Listen]
7. Zamar Celebration [Listen]
8. Jesus You're Wonderful [Listen]
9. Why I Came [Listen]
10. Why I Came (Reprise) [Listen]
11. Glory Exaltation (Spoken Word) [Listen]
12. The Glory Of The Lord [Listen]
13. Morning Medley [Listen]
14. Healed By The Power Of His Word [Listen]
15. My Love Song (With My Jesus I Love Thee) [Listen]
16. My Love Song (Reprise) [Listen]
17. Destiny (Part I) [Listen]
18. Destiny (Part II) [Listen]
19. The Worshipper's Mandate (Spoken Word) [Listen]
20. Revelations 19-1 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Stephen Hurd is today’s rising star of live praise and worship music, transcending all cultural and denominational boundaries. A multitalented singer, songwriter, worship leader and man of God, Stephen seeks to bring every listener into the presence of God.
Produced by the award-winning Steven Ford, My Destiny features amazing live production with a worship band second to none.
Stephen’s energetic songs of praise and encouraging worshipful ballads are geared not only for Sunday morning services but are perfect for personal times of worship.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.