Steven Curtis Chapman - The Ultimate Collection

Published Thursday 13th August 2015
Steven Curtis Chapman - The Ultimate Collection
Steven Curtis Chapman - The Ultimate Collection

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 155059-23287
LABEL: Sparrow 0602547074010
RELEASE DATE: 2015-01-26

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

This two CD compilation is a useful snapshot of the CCM hitmaker containing as it does popular tracks from a swathe of his albums - 1989's 'More To This Life', 1990's 'For The Sake Of The Call', 1992's 'The Great Adventure', 1994's 'Heaven In The Real World', 1996's 'Signs Of Life', 1997's 'Greatest Hits, 1999's 'Speechless', 2003's 'All About Love', 2003's 'Declaration', 2007's 'This Moment', 2011's 'Re.Creation' and 2013's 'The Glorious Unfolding'. Standouts are "Magnificent Obsession" and "Free" though reflecting as this does the rather conservative playlist policies of American Christian radio 'The Ultimate Collection' doesn't contain Cross Rhythms turntable hits like "You Are Being Loved", "I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)" and "Treasure Of You". Be that as it may, Chapman's songwriting craft and warm vocals and top production from people like Brown Bannister, Phil Naish and Matt Bronleewe still make this a collection of polished Nashville CCM with plenty of spiritual uplift in the lyrics too.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Dive [Listen]
2. Love Take Me Over [Listen]
3. The Great Adventure [Listen]
4. Cinderella [Listen]
5. Speechless [Listen]
6. The Change [Listen]
7. Heaven In The Real World [Listen]
8. Be Still And Know [Listen]
9. All About Love [Listen]
10. Magnificent Obsession [Listen]
11. Go There With You [Listen]
12. Free [Listen]
13. Do Everything [Listen]
14. Fingerprints Of God [Listen]
15. More To This Life [Listen]
16. Lord Of The Dance [Listen]
17. I Will Be Here [Listen]
18. Yours [Listen]
19. For The Sake Of The Call [Listen]
20. Let Us Pray [Listen]
21. Live Out Loud [Listen]
22. Signs Of Life [Listen]
23. His Eyes [Listen]
24. Not Home Yet [Listen]
25. When Love Takes You In [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room