Strange Celebrity - Remedy

Saturday 1st November 2003
Strange Celebrity - Remedy
Strange Celebrity - Remedy

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
LABEL: Squint 8862522
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Built around singer/frontman Luke Brown, ‘Remedy’ is the label debut for Strange Celebrity. The band also features former Petra guitarist Quinton Gibson, though he’s trying to play the Petra connection down! They have created a catchy modern rock sound that is efficient but not particularly memorable. All the component parts are present - crisp guitar textures, soaring vocals, anthemic choruses and a strong rhythm section to keep it all together. But somehow, like a bunch of other bands that have emerged recently like 38th Parallel and Radial Angel, this feels more like rock by numbers than something filled with soul. Consequently, this is a competent but not essential album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Free [Listen]
2. If I [Listen]
3. Back To Life [Listen]
4. I Can't Breathe [Listen]
5. Someday [Listen]
6. Ruin [Listen]
7. Dangerous [Listen]
8. Control [Listen]
9. Rise [Listen]
10. Paralyzed [Listen]
11. Perfect World [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.