Stuart Townend - Lord Of Every Heart & Monument To Mercy

Published Wednesday 1st June 2011
Stuart Townend - Lord Of Every Heart & Monument To Mercy
Stuart Townend - Lord Of Every Heart & Monument To Mercy

View all products in this series

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 94358-17666
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD3085
RELEASE DATE: 2010-06-21

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Tom Lennie

He's been for many years one of Britain's favourite worship leaders and this double-CD re-packaging offers two of Stuart's finest studio recordings, 'Lord Of Every Heart' (2002) and 'Monument To Mercy' (2006). Each album ably reveals both the depth and variety of Townend's lyrical abilities (unfortunately lyrics aren't provided in the sleevenotes, though other details are) and also the variety of his musical arrangements. We're treated to several of the classic hymns that he's penned, including "When Love Came Down", "The Power Of The Cross" and "Love Incarnate". There's also a number of chirpy pop songs, a good old rock'n'roll tune, a prayer-song and several piano-based ballads. Add to these some pleasant backing vocals and horn sections, along with excellent production from John Hartley and Mark Edwards on each album respectively. Together these discs comprise a fine double-showcase of this notable songsmith's output.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Grace [Listen]
2. Image Of Invisible God [Listen]
3. Love Incarnate [Listen]
4. My Desire [Listen]
5. Mystery [Listen]
6. My Delight [Listen]
7. Lord Of Every Heart [Listen]
8. When Love Came Down [Listen]
9. Across The Lands [Listen]
10. In Christ Alone [Listen]
11. This Love Is Enough [Listen]
12. All I Want To Say [Listen]
13. I'm Grateful [Listen]
14. Child Of The King [Listen]
15. Psalm 23 [Listen]
16. Kyrie [Listen]
17. Every Promise [Listen]
18. Filled With Wonder [Listen]
19. The Power Of The Cross [Listen]
20. Puritan Prayer [Listen]
21. Beloved And Blessed [Listen]
22. My God [Listen]
23. See What A Morning [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Product Description

Fusing together 2 CDs from Stuart Townend in one package.

Stuart Townend is a name that has already etched itself alongside the great hymn writers of yesteryear. How Deep The Father's Love, The King of Love, Beautiful Saviour and In Christ Alone have made sure of that. His album Lord Of Every Heart is a fusion of contemporary celebration, reflective adoration and hymn-like grandeur with songs that have resourced the church.

Monument To Mercy is a superb studio album, full of songs immersed in powerful theology, all underpinned with ear catching arrangements. Featuring co-writes with Kate Simmonds, Keith Getty and Pastor Terry Virgo, the album includes the hymn Oh To See The Dawn (The Power Of The Cross), a track which also features the FILMharmonic Orchestra of Prague.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room