Terry Mills - Full Circle

Monday 1st September 2003
Terry Mills - Full Circle
Terry Mills - Full Circle

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

Those with long memories (and who’ve been to a festival or two) will know all about Nuffsed, from the heart of the Black Country, a very good roots/folk pop band that had a nice line in thoughtful ballads and Celtic-style romper stompers, the majority of them penned by Terry Mills and his good pal and Cross Rhythms editor Tony Cummings. Since their 1998 release ‘Greet The Dawn’, Nuffsed have dissipated. So it was with interest and pleasure that I received this CD, especially when I spotted several Mills/Cummings songs on the tracklist. Terry these days is involved in an organisation called KIPA (call it “kipper” – after all, their symbol is a fish!), which stands for Kids In Performing Arts, helping youngsters to use their acting, dancing and singing as a tool for Christian outreach. So what of the album? Suffice it to say, it’s well played and sung, and properly produced - no back bedroom stuff here – and the new songs that Terry’s been writing lately bear comparison with some of the classics of yesteryear. There are also a couple of good re-recordings of old songs, including my favourite Mills/Cummings song of recent years, “Holy Ghost Of A Chance”. Well worth getting hold of – nuffsed?

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. What You Mean To Me [Listen]
2. Close To You [Listen]
3. Salt & Light [Listen]
4. The Love You In Your Eyes [Listen]
5. A Call From The Wilderness [Listen]
6. Set Free To Be Me [Listen]
7. That Extra Mile [Listen]
8. Tomorrow Seemed A Safer Place To Hide [Listen]
9. My Father's Home [Listen]
10. Prayer For Alex [Listen]
11. Who Are We To Mess Up The Love [Listen]
12. The Old Man [Listen]
13. Holy Ghost Of A Chance [Listen]
14. Prayer For You [Listen]
15. Bonus Track [Listen]
16. Bonus Track [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.