The Blessed Man - Community Project

Published Sunday 25th February 2007
The Blessed Man - Community Project
The Blessed Man - Community Project

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 21492-12023
LABEL: Independent

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Greg Inglis

UK MC Blessed Man brings us his third solo album, the follow up to 2003's 'Back To Basics'. With a name inspired by the Bible (taken from Psalm 1v1), it's no surprise that there is no watering down of the Gospel message in an attempt to sell records. "Urban Inspirational" talks of a life without God being "a life that is dead" before setting out how Jesus died on the cross and rose again. There is also a clear social conscience demonstrated here through tracks like "Stay In School" and "Stop The Violence" which are hard hitting tales of the dangers of drugs, violence and crime and the alternative that is available to those who choose to take it. Both tracks also appear here in remix form which unnecessarily pads out what is a strong release despite some occasionally repetitive beats on the likes of "Shame On Me". The sleeve only includes lyrics to half of the songs which puzzled me greatly. But that's a small quibble. An interesting and thought provoking addition to any hip-hop collection.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Intro [Listen]
2. Hello [Listen]
3. Lord's Ministers Ftg Gifted & S.O.E [Listen]
4. New Flavour [Listen]
5. Stop The Violence [Listen]
6. Stay In School Interlude [Listen]
7. Stay In School Ftg Paladino [Listen]
8. Shame On Me [Listen]
9. Urban Inspirational [Listen]
10. Contributions To Hip Hop Ftg Mantis & Royal Priesthood [Listen]
11. Know You Better Ftg Natalie Pjillips [Listen]
12. Praise God [Listen]
13. Street Lie Ftg David Fisher [Listen]
14. Stop The Violence Ftg Nathan Prime [Listen]
15. Stay In School (Remix) [Listen]
16. Lord's Ministers (Original) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.