The Blues Band - Stepping Out

Wednesday 1st May 2002
The Blues Band - Stepping Out
The Blues Band - Stepping Out

STYLE: Blues
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Hypertension 2213HYP

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer


Recorded last year for a German label, it's good to see that The Blues Band continue to make great music. Of interest to readers of Cross Rhythms because of singer broadcaster Paul Jones (last Christian project released by ICC) who fronts this group of talented '60s musicians playing their favourite music. It's impossible for this music to go out of fashion and this time out the band have chosen to write most of the material. There's the smoky "I Am The Blues" featuring some fine slide playing and then there's the cheeky almost Little Featesque "Last Chance To Dance" allowing Jones to adopt his worldly wise persona. At other points they choose to rock things up on "Stepping Out On Main" and "Bus To Nowhere". The album closes with the traditional "Resting On Jesus" which gives the album an uplifting gospel blues finish. When it comes to contemporary blues music, there isn't a band in Britain that do it better.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Half The Man(Twice The Fool) [Listen]
2. On The Street [Listen]
3. I Am The Blues [Listen]
4. Last Chance To Dance [Listen]
5. Bus To Nowhere [Listen]
6. I'll Be Home Again Tonight [Listen]
7. Mr Estes Said [Listen]
8. Wait A Minute [Listen]
9. The Other Side [Listen]
10. There Shoes [Listen]
11. Stepping Out On Main [Listen]
12. Resting On Jesus [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.