The Cash Family - Against All Odds

Published Monday 22nd February 2010
The Cash Family - Against All Odds
The Cash Family - Against All Odds

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 86265-15994
LABEL: Celtic Isle Records
RRP: £8.50

Reviewed by Donna Marshall

The Cash Family hail from Washington DC, and with family groups long dominating gospel music history this team of old-school harmonisers are well worth a listen. Leader Christine Cash has a strong voice and on a ballad like "His Calling Me" there is a soulful warmth communicated. It seems that the Cash Family continue to grow as they have recently added grandchildren and nieces to their numbers. If rural-tinged gospel is a style you lean towards then "Holy Ghost Train" will fit that need with its uplifting, foot stomping, praise and worship groove while "Jesus How Sweet the Name" is a skillfully constructed song that starts off slowly but reaches an exciting conclusion. All tracks on this set were written and produced collectively by The Cash Family and though this is not the kind of contemporary stylings likely to break into America's national gospel chart anytime soon, there is still authenticity and vitality in the music presented here.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Saved [Listen]
2. Against All Odds [Listen]
3. He's Calling Me [Listen]
4. Holy Ghost Train [Listen]
5. Holy Ghost Train (Reprise) [Listen]
6. Jesus How Sweet The Name [Listen]
7. Somewhere In America [Listen]
8. The Big Storm [Listen]
9. Please Hear My Cry Today [Listen]
10. Heaven [Listen]
11. The Answer Is On Its Way [Listen]
12. Like An Eagle's Eyes [Listen]
13. You Are My Song [Listen]
14. Why Can't We Get Along- [Listen]
15. I'm Trying To Get Home [Listen]
16. Jesus Will Be Waiting [Listen]
17. He's Calling Me (World Percussion Mix) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.