The Channel Surfers - Where I Wanna Be

Tuesday 1st February 2000
The Channel Surfers - Where I Wanna Be
The Channel Surfers - Where I Wanna Be

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Organic ORCD 9642
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Funky rock music a la Red Hot Chilli Peppers is the Channelsurfers' bag and this second album builds on the success of the first, but this time around they have a new singer less inclined towards James Brown impressions! Consequently, this is a more polished effort although their main influence is still worn on the sleeve. But then I am sucker for funky guitar riffs and a little bit of elastic in the bass and drums department to prevent this band being just another plodding rock effort. So what grabbed the Rimmer attention? Aside from the hilarious lyrics, "Beach Bums" sounds like something Trapeze might have done in the '70s. "Here We Go" is a chunky opening to the album but with a kiddy chorus stolen from the Chilli Peppers' "Aeroplane" but we'll forgive them! "Where I Wanna Be" takes an excellent groove and glides along whilst "Cheese Review" is written in response to a critical pan­ning the band received. For a little variation, the loops and riffs of "Look Inside" and the huge catchy chorus make the song one of the album's standout cuts. The band's blend of rock and funk hits a fresh phase on "Along For The Ride", and I'm happy to see them returning to the best song on their debut with "More Lonely Guys", which is just an excuse for a solid workout. Whatever you do, don't miss the bonus tracks which include an absolutely hilarious take-off of heavy metal!!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Here We Go [Listen]
2. Where I Wanna Be [Listen]
3. Cheese Review [Listen]
4. Beach Bums [Listen]
5. Heavenly Places [Listen]
6. Wasteland [Listen]
7. Getting Away [Listen]
8. Look Inside [Listen]
9. Along For The Ride [Listen]
10. We Still Believe [Listen]
11. More Lonely Guys [Listen]
12. Untitled 1 [Listen]
13. Untitled 2 [Listen]
14. Heaven Metal Parody [Listen]
15. Still The Same [Listen]
16. Now [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.