The Eden Prophecy - The Return Of The King

Published Thursday 10th May 2007
The Eden Prophecy - The Return Of The King
The Eden Prophecy - The Return Of The King

OUR PRODUCT CODE: 22507-12341
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £5.00

Reviewed by Peter Dilley

Like their horticultural near-namesake, the Eden Prophecy are based in Cornwall, and they've been putting out low-budget rock and ambient CDs for a few years now. Although the line-up remains listed as Damon Newman and Paul Howarth, the accompanying statement "all instrumentation, vocals and lyrics by Damon Newman" implies that Paul must have opted out of active involvement in this particular venture. So what's here is a one man, home studio, prog rock project, and as a result it lacks the drive, energy and synergy of a full band recording and often veers right off-course with prolonged instrumental passages. It may be so that small is beautiful, but in my view if Damon and Paul really do want their music to make an impact, they sorely need to find two or three more musicians with whom they can develop and hone their ideas into something more engaging, test them out live, and only then go back into the studio.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Wind Portals [Listen]
2. The Return Of The King [Listen]
3. Spanish Sunrise [Listen]
4. Real Dreams [Listen]
5. The Aliens Have Landed [Listen]
6. Peace Of Mind [Listen]
7. 70 X 7 Syndrome [Listen]
8. Alien Love [Listen]
9. Divine Symmetry [Listen]
10. Metal Fatigue [Listen]
11. Deeper Blue [Listen]
12. Sapphire [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.