The Evan Anthem - Sens

Published Tuesday 29th November 2005
The Evan Anthem - Sens
The Evan Anthem - Sens

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 13929-9992
LABEL: Mono Vs Stereo MSD72954
RELEASE DATE: 2005-08-01

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Megan Dickey

Slight warning before listening to this album; be ready with your box of tissues and chocolates because this record will take you down some sad roads of emotional rock. The second album for American quartet The Evan Anthem is a well developed melodic creation. The strength of the album lies heavily on the band's excellent harmonies and vocals which add flavour and variety. However, I quickly became lost in an atmosphere of piano ballads followed with a mix of sappy lyrics with added light guitar hooks. This record is easily pegged into the category of emo rock with lyrics such as "it is midnight forever" from the song "Actually" and "let's stare into the headlights. I love the way you know me" from "Replay". I'll have to admit I'm a sucker for sappy lyrics, but after an entire album full of them I had to quickly put on some upbeat tunes to drag me out of my slump. No doubt The Evan Anthem are talented musically and vocally, but you can only handle so much lyrically. Where's my box of tissues?

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Zeros And Threes [Listen]
2. Testing [Listen]
3. Ballon Jeaune [Listen]
4. Vegas [Listen]
5. Actually [Listen]
6. Replay [Listen]
7. Some Truckstop [Listen]
8. Chloroform [Listen]
9. Something - Anything [Listen]
10. Dans Ce Moment [Listen]
11. Half Ready To Half Believe [Listen]
12. High Strung Poets [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.