The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Endeavour...A Weekend With The ISB

Published Tuesday 8th May 2018
The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Endeavour...A Weekend With The ISB
The International Staff Band Of The Salvation Army - Endeavour...A Weekend With The ISB

STYLE: Brass Band
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 167721-26270
LABEL: Salvationist Publishing & Supp SPS409CD

Reviewed by Stephen Luff

Amongst the duties of the International Staff Band is to make monthly weekend visits to corps of the Salvation Army, presenting concerts and aiding worship. On this CD, the world's most famous brass band, under Staff Bandmaster Stephen Cobb, presents listeners with a quality collection of songs that demonstrate exemplary musicianship. From the enthusiastic title track to the more gentle "A Special Moment" and the beautiful "The Garden" (Keith Getty and Stuart Townsend), the variety of repertoire and the crisp ensemble work keep the listener's attention throughout. They even play a composition called "Cross-Rhythms". ISB also demonstrate 'text painting', a technique used by composers to musically portray ideas already expressed in words - in this case Good Friday. This is a fine example of a brass band who, even after decades of faithful service and hundreds of musicians passing through their ranks, can still grip listeners with their consummate skill and interpretive powers.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Endeavour [Listen]
2. All The World Is Waiting [Listen]
3. What A Wonderful Day [Listen]
4. Living Waters [Listen]
5. Glory, Hallelujah! [Listen]
6. Jesus, Good Above All Other [Listen]
7. Cross-Rhythms [Listen]
8. A Special Moment [Listen]
9. The Garden [Listen]
10. Candle Of The Lord [Listen]
11. When He Cometh [Listen]
12. Boundless Spirit [Listen]
13. Into The Deep [Listen]
14. Spirit Of The West [Listen]
15. To Boldly Go [Listen]
16. My Story And Song [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signng up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room