The International Staff Songsters Of The Salvation Army - Praise His Name

Published Wednesday 5th March 2008
The International Staff Songsters Of The Salvation Army - Praise His Name
The International Staff Songsters Of The Salvation Army - Praise His Name

STYLE: Choral
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 41318-13359
LABEL: Salvationist Publishing & Supp 24856
RELEASE DATE: 2007-12-07
RRP: £16.39

Reviewed by Doug Holland

This offering from what is arguably the premier choir of the Salvation Army is a well thought out and composed selection, containing as it does traditional Salvationist favourites ("He Sought Me" and "My Treasure" in particular), some borrowed from the modern church music group repertoire (notably "Be Still" and "Breathe") and others of in-between age, nature and feel. The arrangements as ever for this choir are tasteful and always interesting, the instruments (piano, bass, percussion and oboe) are extremely tight and do their job of bringing the best out of the vocals quite beautifully and the vocals themselves are exquisite. This is 19 tracks and 72 minutes of excellent choral material, with developing and changing moods and textures and the whole is without a weak track. It is 28 years since the ISS was formed and producing material of this quality and long may they continue!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. A Choral Fanfare [Listen]
2. Be Still [Listen]
3. A Jubilant Song [Listen]
4. Breathe [Listen]
5. There Is A Green Hill [Listen]
6. One Life To Live [Listen]
7. Kedron [Listen]
8. Praise His Holy Name [Listen]
9. In The Cross [Listen]
10. He Sought Me [Listen]
11. My Treasure [Listen]
12. I Believe [Listen]
13. Three Love Letters [Listen]
14. Joshua Fit De Battle [Listen]
15. The Lord Is My Shepherd [Listen]
16. Jesus, What A Saviour [Listen]
17. Singin' In The Heavenly [Listen]
18. This Day [Listen]
19. Lord, Keep Us Safe [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room