The Violet Burning - This Is The Moment

Monday 1st March 2004
The Violet Burning - This Is The Moment
The Violet Burning - This Is The Moment

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Northern NRCD0010
RRP: £2.50

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Those who’ve been with Cross Rhythms for the long ride will know we’ve been breathlessly eulogising their talent ever since that stunning ‘Chosen' album burst upon us in 1990. Since then they’ve gone through more than their share of difficulties but against all the odds Michael Pritzl is still there in 2003 to lead his fellow Californians to vistas new. Their unerring ability to concoct densely layered guitar soundscapes and melodies that ache with wistful poignancy. But now the evidence of a healing for Michael is clearly apparent. At least the darkness and pain that once permeated some of their albums have lifted. There are still occasional glimpses of bleakness (“Lost Without You Near Me” for instance). But more often there’s a joyful, almost childlike acceptance of God’s love. And a song like “Radio Jesus Superstar” glows with a joyful innocence. Another incomparable album from one of the finest bands in Christendom.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lovesick [Listen]
2. Everywhere I Go [Listen]
3. Radio Jesus Superstar [Listen]
4. The Only One [Listen]
5. I'm Not Letting Go [Listen]
6. Heaven Holds My Heart [Listen]
7. Lost Without You Near Me [Listen]
8. Lord, Rescue Me [Listen]
9. Slowa [Listen]
10. I See Stars [Listen]
11. Let It Begin [Listen]
12. Manta Rae [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.