The Wedding - The Wedding

Published Wednesday 5th October 2005
The Wedding - The Wedding
The Wedding - The Wedding

STYLE: Hard Music
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 13372-3129
LABEL: Rambler

Reviewed by Jeremy Williams

This is punk of the baggy shorts school, though with a bit more bite than Blink 182, Sum 41 and the other bands that spring to mind. And they're from Arkansas, rather than Orange County. This eponymous album, their first, is a bit of a manifesto: "We're fighting against the mainstream/Against everything they tell us we should be," they declare on "Joyride". By sticking to fairly safe, fairly mainstream skate-punk vibe, they unfortunately fail to practice what they preach, but the album gets more interesting as it goes on. The Wedding have packed the anthems and crowd pleasers in early, and then slowed down and experimented more in the second half. It's here where they stand out, particularly "Water Under The Bridge", which successfully juxtaposes a gentle piano line with screaming hardcore. A band to see live, I should think, to get the most out of them.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Morning Air [Listen]
2. Move This City [Listen]
3. This Time I'm Leaving [Listen]
4. Wake The Regiment [Listen]
5. One Eye Open [Listen]
6. Price For Love [Listen]
7. Death By Xanga [Listen]
8. 479HxC (Through The Night) [Listen]
9. Joyride [Listen]
10. But A Breath [Listen]
11. Water Under The Bridge [Listen]
12. Song For The Broken [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.