The Wedding Music Guide - The Wedding Music Guide

Saturday 1st November 2003
The Wedding Music Guide - The Wedding Music Guide
The Wedding Music Guide - The Wedding Music Guide

STYLE: Classical
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
LABEL: Rapid Reaction RRR0201001
RELEASE DATE: 2003-06-06
RRP: £11.22

Reviewed by Brian Carr

I don't know if the editor has inside info, but as a father of two girls, receiving The Wedding Music Guide CD can be a little unsettling with huge bills flashing before one’s eyelids. I quote from album cover: “The Wedding Music Guide presents fifteen beautifully recorded tracks offering a range of styles from classical to Celtic.” It comes with a booklet to assist the wedding couple to select the music for their big day. The CD is edited as to be able to be played at the ceremony. It is helpfully divided into sections: Entrance and exit of bride and groom; signing of the register and choice of hymns including “Praise My Soul The King Of Heaven” and “Love Divine”. I listened to the CD on a warm, barmy evening and it was “nice” - a lovely soothing end of day experience for one who appreciates music of all genres. My only observation, after attending half a dozen weddings last year, is that traditional music seems not to be the choice of the modern couple and “My Girl” is more likely to be heard welcoming the bride. That being the case I wonder at the album’s appeal for its intended market but I will keep it safe as you never know when you might need it.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Trumpet Tune [Listen]
2. Jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring [Listen]
3. The Bridal March [Listen]
4. The Trumpet Voluntary [Listen]
5. Greensleeves [Listen]
6. Brian Boru's March [Listen]
7. Ag Criost An Siol [Listen]
8. Amazing Grace [Listen]
9. Buchail An Erne [Listen]
10. Jesu Joy Of Man's Desiring [Listen]
11. Praise My Soul The King Of Heaven [Listen]
12. Love Divine [Listen]
13. All Things Bright And Beautiful [Listen]
14. Praise My Soul The King Of Heaven [Listen]
15. Love Divine [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.