Todd Agnew - Better Questions (special edition)

Published Friday 2nd November 2007
Todd Agnew - Better Questions (special edition)
Todd Agnew - Better Questions (special edition)

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 29188-13115
LABEL: Fair Trade Services 766887254829
RELEASE DATE: 2007-08-31
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Matthew Cordle

A couple of years after 'Reflection Of Something' Todd returns with an interesting collection of songs with a slightly intriguing title. Todd explains that seeing as he had a couple of hit songs a lot of people seemed to think that he had all the answers - his response to that is that he's got better questions than he has answers. He goes on to say that God is big enough to handle all our difficult questions and in fact God draws us into a deeper relationship with him through our exploration of those questions. There is diversity in the music as elements of country, blues, reggae and even rap mixed in with the pop rock. Todd has a strong voice and the vocal style and range varies a lot - sometimes growling, sometimes smooth, sometimes high, sometimes low (in fact the first main song sounds almost too low as the vocal doesn't sound very comfortable). Lyrically, this is top rate. Standout lines include "It's funny how a fish can obey you but I can't", "Only God knows the difference between preachers and thieves" and "If you wanted me to die to myself, why'd you make me fall so deeply in love with life?. . .and if you wanted me to be like you, why'd you make me like me?" Also, the cover of Fernando Ortega's wonderful song "Our Great God" which also features Rebecca St James is a standout. The CD ends beautifully with an unlisted track - a triumphant version of the traditional hymn, "Glorious Day". The bonus DVD contains an explanation of the album's title, a recording session for "Still Has A Hold" which shows the progression from the initial rough guitar demo version to the final mix, a short montage of footage from being on the road and a challenging documentary video of Todd in Zimbabwe. Well worth checking out.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Prelude [Listen]
2. Still Has A Hold [Listen]
3. Least Of These [Listen]
4. You Wanted Me [Listen]
5. Our Great God [Listen]
6. Lovers In Our Heads [Listen]
7. Peace On Earth [Listen]
8. Funny [Listen]
9. Don't Say A Word [Listen]
10. War Inside [Listen]
11. Martyr's Song [Listen]
12. On A Corner In Memphis [Listen]
13. Family [Listen]
14. Preachers And Thieves [Listen]
15. Can I Be With You [Listen]
16. Untitled [Listen]
17. Untitled [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Todd Agnew continues to showcase his poignant songwriting skills with 'Better Questions'. This project takes the listener on a very deliberate journey, wrestling with the idea that our questioning does not minimise our experience of God, but rather enhances our relationship with Him.
It is sonically more eclectic than anything Todd has done, but still carries his signature style.
Featuring epic songs like 'Peace On Earth', asking whether or not itís possible for mankind to live in harmony, 'Martyrís Song', focusing on what happens when we die and 'Still Has A Hold', which contemplates how God can hold on to us even when we canít hold on to Him. These songs drive us to our knees before an impossible unknowable God who made Himself known to us.
This special CD/DVD combo includes a DVD featuring a World Vision documentary of Todd in Africa, a documentary of the complete recording process for 'Still Has A Hold', road community behind the scenes segment, a studio behind the scenes segment and a song discussion segment.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.