VIP Mass Choir Ftg John P Kee - Live In Miami (Yes We Can)

Published Wednesday 7th October 2009
VIP Mass Choir Ftg John P Kee - Live In Miami (Yes We Can)
VIP Mass Choir Ftg John P Kee - Live In Miami (Yes We Can)

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 50496-10996
LABEL: Verity 886970683821
RRP: £12.99

Reviewed by Andy Cooper

John P Kee is back again, with large choir, a brace of guests and band hotter than a blow torch. Funky, soulful and dynamic, the band provide an interesting and varied bedrock for the myriad of singers: Fred Hammond appears on "Glory", sounding as strong as ever; Evangelist Carol Thomas's deep gargling style is featured on the charismatic performance of "Winner"; and Miranda Curtis returns again following her stunning performance on the last New Life Community Choir album. There are few sounds that stir as much as a mass choir giving glory to God, and Kee knows how to write the songs and arrange the harmonies to bring the best out of this bunch. There are other ensembles who are more technically outstanding and others who wear more trendy attire. But there are few who are as soulful and uplifting as the VIPs. Kee is a key ambassador of gospel music to the world (even though he copied a catch-phrase from a certain president)!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Yes We Can (featuring Pastor John P. Kee & Lowell Pye) [Listen]
2. Favor (featuring Lejuene Thompson) [Listen]
3. Winner (featuring Evang. Carol Thomas) [Listen]
4. Praises (featuring Elder Jason Nelson) [Listen]
5. The Glory (featuring Fred Hammond) [Listen]
6. I'm Covered (featuring Pastor John P. Kee & Lowell Pye) [Listen]
7. Just For Me (featuring Earnest Pugh) [Listen]
8. Our God (featuring Nikki Ross) [Listen]
9. Be Glorified (featuring Pastor John P. Kee & Maranda Curtis) [Listen]
10. I Love You, Lord I Do (featuring Pastor John P. Kee & Maranda Curtis) [Listen]
11. Thy Will (featuring Shelia Lakin & Robert Copeland) [Listen]
12. The Glory (Praise Connection Remix) (featuring Sakiya, Tredell Li'l Rufus & Jon Jon) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.