Various - Return Of The Overcomers Soundtrack

Published Tuesday 13th March 2007
Various - Return Of The Overcomers Soundtrack
Various - Return Of The Overcomers Soundtrack

STYLE: Reggae
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 19380-9446
LABEL: Creative Soul Entertainment 837101205528

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Kevin J Foulger

A project featuring a bevy of Caribbean artists including DJ Counsellor, Mr Lynx, DJ Frost, Dane-Jah-Rus, Selector, Monty G and Fire. This album contains both rap/hip-hop and reggae. In truth, the tracks for the hip-hop songs seem to be lacking musical edge and are very basic though the rapping is good and spiritual. As you may guess from the title, there is a theme linked to a big event in the Bahamas, pushing out the message of being overcomers. One track, "We Won't Stop", is just the same loop repeated for the entire track, showing a lack of musical imagination. On the reggae side, there are some really catchy songs with some strong Caribbean main vocals. The reverb and delay effects on both vocals and drums add a truly warm soundscape even if some of the backing vocals sounded out of tune. The album has a variety of sounds. Some tracks are excellent, some seem to go on far too long, others will get stuck in your head whether you like it or not. On a serious note, if you are overcoming something with the help of Jesus Christ, this could provide some extra inspiration and encouragement.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Overcomers Anthem - Dunamus Crew [Listen]
2. Bun Fire - Selector [Listen]
3. Return Of The Overcomers (Duck And Run) - Papa Don [Listen]
4. Know Who You Are - Fire Kid [Listen]
5. Conquerors - Chariots Of Fire [Listen]
6. We Shall Overcome - Monty 6 [Listen]
7. I Shall Rise - Manifest [Listen]
8. You Can Overcome - DJ Counsellor [Listen]
9. We Won't Stop - Double Syx [Listen]
10. The Fight (Interlude) - Radal Parks [Listen]
11. Gonna Overcome - Mr. Lynx [Listen]
12. Get Out From Undercover [Listen]
13. The Overcomer Returns - Davy B [Listen]
14. Overcome - Dane-Jah-Rus [Listen]
15. We Bless - Mr. Beeds [Listen]
16. Overcome Dat - Mighty One [Listen]
17. Almighty Father - Landlord Feat. Sold [Listen]
18. Hold On Strong - Avalanchee [Listen]
19. You Can Make It - Minister K [Listen]
20. Jesus Is The Rock - Troy Anthony [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

Cross Rhythms Under Threat
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Sign up  E-txt 
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room