Various - Tunnel Rats Present Underground Rise Vol 1: Sunrise/Sunset

Monday 1st September 2003
Various - Tunnel Rats Present Underground Rise Vol 1: Sunrise/Sunset
Various - Tunnel Rats Present Underground Rise Vol 1: Sunrise/Sunset

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
RRP: £1.99

Reviewed by Andrzej Legierski

LA-based hip-hop team Tunnelrats bring together friends and counterparts to create a project that collaborates the best of up and coming American Christian rap artists. ‘Sunrise/Sunset’ is the first offering in the trilogy featuring LA Symphony, manCHILD, Remnant, Mass Reality, Propaganda and several others. Amazingly, all of the 19 tracks were recorded over the course of one weekend! Quite a feat by anybody’s standard, so what is the result? We fire up with a great intro track featuring Jamie (wife of New Breed's Macho). Full of very good wordplay that gives the listener a good idea of what to expect in the coming moments. “How We Get Down” opens the flood gates with a collective medley of several artists including Macho/Propaganda/Reconcile/Griffin/Elsie/Sev. You kinda get the feeling that there is a big party going on and everybody is invited! The same spirit translates into every track on the album. Each artist featured has a very individual style to bring to the table and that is demonstrated in full with track's like “Southern Brutality” and “Kick Kick”. Tunnel Rats and LA Symphony get together for the first time to create “One Voice”, a track that will send all underground fans into orbit! Before the lights are turned off, the album finishes in true style with “Remember This Day”. A freestyle session featuring no less than 15 of the represented artists locked in a room together! The result is OUCH! 'Sunrise/Sunset' is a powerful statement made in what is becoming a very diverse hip-hip scene in the States. Though little time was given to record this album it does not compromise the quality of the production or indeed the songs. A great overall feel that will make this hip-hop project a sure classic!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Intro [Listen]
2. How We Get Down [Listen]
3. You Don't Want That [Listen]
4. Southern Brutality [Listen]
5. Kick Kick [Listen]
6. Devil's Advocate [Listen]
7. Concentrated [Listen]
8. Lost [Listen]
9. Real Money [Listen]
10. The Knack [Listen]
11. Ladders [Listen]
12. Interlude [Listen]
13. One Voice [Listen]
14. Suffocation [Listen]
15. Mission Pen Possible [Listen]
16. Cyphers [Listen]
17. Doing Life [Listen]
18. Remember This Day [Listen]
19. Outro [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room