Victory In Praise Music And Arts Seminar Mass Choir - Any Day

Monday 1st February 1999
Victory In Praise Music And Arts Seminar Mass Choir - Any Day
Victory In Praise Music And Arts Seminar Mass Choir - Any Day

STYLE: Gospel
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Verity 01241-43117-2

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

The US gospel choir scene shows no sign of abating its growth or its quality, and in John P Kee it has an established choir director whose track record stands comparison with the best. On the other hand, choir music can sometimes be hollering by numbers, with musical quality submerged in sheer volume masquerading as anointing. On the whole this doesn’t fall into that trap; sure, the soloists give it their all, but the choir is kept in check, and there are some urban grooves to go with the usual gospel rhythms and the slow shouters. Having said that, proceedings do get dragged out a bit, 64 minutes for 11 songs is a bit too much of a good thing. Gospel choir fanatics will be delighted; those whose music tastes are more catholic (in the non-church sense of the word) might like to pass on this one.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Any Day [Listen]
2. Thy Loving Kindness [Listen]
3. Holy Hands [Listen]
4. Hold On (God's Unchaning Day) [Listen]
5. Abundantly [Listen]
6. Holy Lamb Of God [Listen]
7. When The Gates [Listen]
8. Fight Every Battle [Listen]
9. Carry On [Listen]
10. When Will We Sing The Same Song- [Listen]
11. I'm Healed [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.