Vineyard Music - Hymns In The Vineyard: 25 Modern Arrangements Of Classic Hymns

Tuesday 1st May 2001
Vineyard Music - Hymns In The Vineyard: 25 Modern Arrangements Of Classic Hymns
Vineyard Music - Hymns In The Vineyard: 25 Modern Arrangements Of Classic Hymns

STYLE: Hymnody
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Vineyard Music VMD9350

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

The title says it all, I suppose; over 70 minutes of music, featuring Vineyard stalwarts Scott Underwood, Cindy Rethmeier, Debby Smith, Terry Butler and others, and the track list is replete with some truly classic hymns - "Great Is Thy Faithfulness", "How Great Thou Art", "The Old Rugged Cross", "When I Survey", "It is Well With My Soul", "What A Friend We Have In Jesus", etc. The mood is intimate and worshipful, with stripped down arrangements and no distractions from a live congregation and whilst some of the arrangements are a bit iffy (one or two singers add a few vocal twiddly bits that don't really fit the mood and occasionally the tunes are unfamiliar), this is a genuinely inspirational package of some of the best hymnody of the last three centuries. Infinitely better than most of the dull and unimaginative stuff masquerading as "classics" churned out ad nauseam by some labels lately.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Fairest Lord Jesus [Listen]
2. How Great Thou Art [Listen]
3. Medley Pt 1 [Listen]
4. Just As I Am [Listen]
5. I Surrender All [Listen]
6. What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
7. Holy Holy Holy [Listen]
8. My Jesus I Love Thee [Listen]
9. Medley Pt 2 [Listen]
10. Great Is Thy Faithfulness [Listen]
11. Be Thou My Vision [Listen]
12. I Know That My Redeemer Lives [Listen]
13. It Is Well With My Soul [Listen]
14. Have Thine Own Way [Listen]
15. Take My Life And Let It Be [Listen]
16. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus [Listen]
17. 'Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus [Listen]
18. Medley Pt 3 [Listen]
19. Hidden Track 1 [Listen]
20. Hidden Track 2 [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room