World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 1

Thursday 1st June 2000
World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 1
World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 1

RATING 4 4 4 4
LABEL: Kevin Mayhew 1460901
RRP: £10.99

Reviewed by Jennifer Brooker

WWW is a new quarterly resource for worship leaders drawing on material from several copyright holders. However, try introducing any of the 31 songs in these first two volumes to a church already using contemporary praise and worship, and I wonder if anyone will notice that they are new. Each individual song is perfectly well constructed in this particular genre, but they all have the feel of being in simple double or quadruple time; the tonal language is so limited half the songs are in the same two keys (easier for the musicians, but a little tedious after a while); and the lyrics are so safely orthodox, most are completely unmemorable. World wide music? I don't think so, unless we mean by that music from across the globe entrenching itself into one small corner of the field staked out by the academically-trained composers of Western Europe up to about 1900. That, in praise of a God of boundless creativity, would be a great pity; and I doubt if it will do much to raise the level of interest in this genre of music or attract people to the one to whom it is dedicated.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Oh Taste And See [Listen]
2. What A Hope You've Treasured Up For Us [Listen]
3. The Spirit Of The Lord [Listen]
4. I Believe In Angels [Listen]
5. This Is The Best Place [Listen]
6. Lord Of My Life [Listen]
7. I Lift Up My Eyes To Your Throne [Listen]
8. Praise The Lord [Listen]
9. I Was On Your Mind [Listen]
10. All I Have In This World [Listen]
11. O Sacred King [Listen]
12. Jesus How I Love Your Name [Listen]
13. As I Come To You [Listen]
14. He Is Our God [Listen]
15. We Ask You O Lord [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.