World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 3

Sunday 1st October 2000
World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 3
World Wide Worship - World Wide Worship 3

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
LABEL: Kevin Mayhew 1460903
RRP: £10.99

Reviewed by Ato Erzan-Essien

These compilations are inevitably hit-and-miss affairs by nature - reflecting your average-Joe worship session: some songs you love, others just don't do it for you. However, listenable the songs on WWW 3 certainly are and aided by excellent singing, musicianship and production - but then this is the very least we should expect. The contributors would be familiar to anyone who reads the credits at the bottom right-hand corner of the acetates. After the mid-tempo "We Have Come" (Janine Price) and "You Are The Sovereign 'I Am'" (Brian Doerksen), the album seems to take a while to warm up again. The pace and lyrics become remarkably meditative until David Fellingham's "There's A Pageant Of Triumph In Glory (Let God Arise)". "Faithful Are Your Mercies Lord" (Mark Altrogge), "The One Who Is Forgiven Much" (Sarah McBride) and "Your Light Broke Through My Heart" (Reuben Morgan) are the other three outstanding tunes - but they are all near the end. No doubt some of the earlier stuff would be more appealing to different ears. However, few would disagree the quirkiest song on 'WWW 3' is the techno "We're Prayin'" by Mechelle Schiaffino. Groovy or gravy? Hmmm.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. We Have Come [Listen]
2. You Are The Sovereign 'I Am' [Listen]
3. There Is No Other Name [Listen]
4. I Believe In The Gospel [Listen]
5. Draw Me Close To You [Listen]
6. Hide Me In The Cleft [Listen]
7. Nothing In This World [Listen]
8. Your Love [Listen]
9. I Will Worship [Listen]
10. All That Is Within Me [Listen]
11. There's A Pageant Of Triumph In Glory [Listen]
12. Faithful Are Your Mercies Lord [Listen]
13. The One Who Is Forgiven Much [Listen]
14. This Is How We Overcome (Your Light Broke Through) [Listen]
15. We're Prayin' [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.