Young Oceans - Suddenly or The Nuclear Sunburst Of The Truth Revealed

Published Sunday 14th January 2018
Young Oceans - Suddenly or The Nuclear Sunburst Of The Truth Revealed
Young Oceans - Suddenly or The Nuclear Sunburst Of The Truth Revealed

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 167550-26171
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Tim Holden

Young Oceans have been around for a while now and their ambient art rock sound has had plenty of time to gather a loyal fan base. The aim is to aid reflective prayer rather than corporate worship and the lyrics, arrangements and production certainly achieve that aim. The album is a swirling ebb and flow, moving almost unnoticed from quiet instrumentation and almost whispered lyrics to power ballad intensity even within the same song - the opener "This Wild Earth" really does set the scene for the whole album. However this is not at all formulaic and there is plenty of variety, from the guitar-based "Are We Not One" to the Bono/U2esque title track "Suddenly". The arrangements and soundscape never jar and with the positive and Heaven-focussed lyrics this album will definitely find a place for the modern seeker of space to reflect and come closer to God.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. This Wild Earth [Listen]
2. Only The Sound [Listen]
3. Heaven Has Come [Listen]
4. Are We Not One [Listen]
5. Walls Come Down [Listen]
6. Have Mercy [Listen]
7. Out Here [Listen]
8. Every Heart Is Open [Listen]
9. Suddenly [Listen]
10. Forever Yours [Listen]
11. The Humility Of God [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.