Yvonne Lyon, Allan McKinlay, Ellyn Oliver, David Lyon - Love Came Down

Published Thursday 1st December 2016
Yvonne Lyon, Allan McKinlay, Ellyn Oliver, David Lyon - Love Came Down
Yvonne Lyon, Allan McKinlay, Ellyn Oliver, David Lyon - Love Came Down

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 163795-24792
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

The now traditional teaming up of Tearfund Scotland with Scottish singer/songwriting couple David and Yvonne Lyon for a fundraising Christmas tour and album have produced some great festive recordings in recent times and this offering carries on in that vein. Sharing the spotlight with fellow Scots Allan McKinlay and Ellyn Oliver, the Lyons have successfully pulled together a collection of nine songs that mix the old with the new with the likes of McKinlay's "King Of Heaven" and the Yvonne-sung/David-written "The Hands That Learn To Give" - not exclusively a Christmas song but fitting nonetheless - all offering up something new to say about the ancient season. Elsewhere, a solid adaptation of "Love Came Down At Christmas" by the Lyons and a tender acoustic version of "We Three Kings" by McKinlay are amongst some of the old chestnuts featured here whilst special mention must go to rising star Ellyn Oliver for a stunning vocal performance on an emotive reading "O Holy Night". A satisfying stocking filler for a worthy cause.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Love Came Down At Christmas [Listen]
2. Ding Dong Merrily On High [Listen]
3. Go Tell It On The Mountain [Listen]
4. The Hands That Learn To Give [Listen]
5. King Of Heaven [Listen]
6. O Holy Night [Listen]
7. I Miss You More At Christmas [Listen]
8. We Three Kings [Listen]
9. Come Lord Come [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.