Ambassadors Of Shalom - Abdicate Self

Published Saturday 8th March 2014
Ambassadors Of Shalom - Abdicate Self
Ambassadors Of Shalom - Abdicate Self

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 149942-21830
LABEL: Thumper Punk
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Cross Rhythms are delighted that America's premier Christian punk label, Thumper Punk Records, have picked up on a British band and particularly one that came together after playing a gig in Stoke-on-Trent. Having just experienced 'Abdicate Self' at full volume this reviewer is convinced that Neil Roddy (vocals, guitar), Pete Feld (bass) and Joe Wilson (drums) have the raw edge and sense of dynamics to compete with any band out there in the thriving punk underground. And hearteningly, the band deliver in-your-face lyrics that back up their claim to be full-on punk rock evangelists. Neil bellows "Won't look to the left, won't look to the right/Look to the cross, Christ is in my sight/The Devil comes in, tries to divide/We all stand together in Jesus Christ - united we stand" with the passion of a fired-up street preacher. There's a punked-up hymn "Nothing But The Blood", a tight and heavy "Jesus Said" with vocals going through Vox effects and a track "Death By Love" which is as worshipful as punk rock is likely to get. Sound quality isn't the best but for a street punk presentation of the King Of Kings, this is darn impressive.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Astray [Listen]
2. This Ain't Home [Listen]
3. Jesus Said [Listen]
4. United We Stand [Listen]
5. Break 'Em Out [Listen]
6. Opposite The Enemy [Listen]
7. We Don't Need It [Listen]
8. Death By Love [Listen]
9. Blamethrower [Listen]
10. Nothing But The Blood [Listen]
11. Julia [Listen]
12. Victory [Listen]
13. It Is Finished [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.