Andrew Griffiths - Big Bangs & Monkeys

Published Friday 3rd June 2011
Andrew Griffiths - Big Bangs & Monkeys
Andrew Griffiths - Big Bangs & Monkeys

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 108956-17905
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Matt McChlery

Hailing from the Swansea Valley in Wales, the multi-talented Andrew Griffiths releases his new album 'Big Bangs & Monkeys'. Andrew is a composer, producer and musician, playing a dazzling variety of instruments. As a result nearly every instrument on the album is played by Andrew including: flugel horn, alto sax, cello and the penny whistle. A strong Christian message is conveyed in creative ways in all the songs on this 2009 album with a variety of musical styles in evidence. The rousing orchestral track that reminds me of a movie soundtrack is "Three Days" which is a stirring song about the resurrection of Jesus. The tone changes with "The One Who Made The Stars" which is an upbeat sing-along number that brings to mind the Beatles' "Yellow Submarine". Quieter, more intimate tracks are also in evidence in songs such as "As If I'd Never Sinned". The 12 tracks of this CD are certainly diverse and varied which make it difficult to classify into any one genre. However, I believe their variety is a good reflection of the vastly talented man who wrote them.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Your Love [Listen]
2. You Give Me Grace [Listen]
3. Big Bangs & Monkeys [Listen]
4. Three Days [Listen]
5. As If I'd Ever Sinned [Listen]
6. Yesterday Today Forever [Listen]
7. Always Here [Listen]
8. Go Into The World [Listen]
9. O The Deep Deep Love Of Jesus [Listen]
10. The One Who Made The Stars [Listen]
11. Love Never Fails (1 Corinthians 13) [Listen]
12. Dancing Tom Tom [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Peter Yeoman in UK, Europe and USA @ 18:56 on Jun 6 2011

Andrew's compositions deserve more air-time. He has written many excellent songs over two decades. Having known him since he was a teenager, he is not one who promotes himself (which is quite biblical really). So we will praise his work instead. "Three Days" particularly deserves more exposure. It is a composition, the subject matter of which, we need to hear a lot more.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.