B J Thomas - Latter Day Raindrops

Monday 1st June 1998
B J Thomas - Latter Day Raindrops
B J Thomas - Latter Day Raindrops

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
RRP: £2.50

Reviewed by Catherine Chung

Most people would probably associate the name BJ Thomas with the 1969 smash hit "Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head" from the Hollywood movie Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid, but he was in fact already a superstar, with over 33 million record sales to his credit. However, the following years proved to be unfortunate ones, with Thomas being involved in a serious stabbing incident, becoming addicted to drugs, and having to drop out of his career. In 1977 he returned to his childhood faith and began singing gospel songs and his Grammy and Dove awards attest to his success. This nicely put together compilation would appeal mainly to those in their late 40s and 50s, perhaps fans of Barry Manilow or of Cliff Richard. Some of the gentle tracks sound like they could be from a '70s love story movie, or others from a Western soundtrack, with a deep-voiced male chorus. As for BJ's vocal ability, there is no doubt the man can sing and sing well. Regarding lyrical content, the songs contain spiritual truths as you would expect from hymns such as "What A Friend We Have In Jesus" and "Rock Of Ages", and are generally soothing and pleasant. The album is full of spiritual truth and encouragement, yes, but, for me, it lacked any passion or any sense of the man behind the voice. Like other albums in the Timeless Classics series, best left to aging CCM buffs who've worn out their vinyl.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Track 1 [Listen]
2. Happy Man [Listen]
3. What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
4. What A Difference You've Made In My Life [Listen]
5. Family Bible [Listen]
6. The Word Is Love [Listen]
7. Take My Hand Precious Lord [Listen]
8. Bridge Of Love [Listen]
9. Beautiful Music [Listen]
10. Softly And Tenderly [Listen]
11. Love Lifted Me [Listen]
12. Thank You Lord [Listen]
13. It Is No Secret [Listen]
14. I Want To Be More Like Jesus [Listen]
15. Where No One Stands Alone [Listen]
16. He's Got It All In Control [Listen]
17. Peace In The Valley [Listen]
18. He's The Hand On My Shoulder [Listen]
19. I'll Fly Away [Listen]
20. From The Start [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Intercession Room
Care for other people and shake heaven in our Intercession Room