Bifrost Arts - Come O Spirit: Anthology Of Hymns And Spiritual Songs Vol 1

Published Wednesday 16th September 2009
Bifrost Arts - Come O Spirit: Anthology Of Hymns And Spiritual Songs Vol 1
Bifrost Arts - Come O Spirit: Anthology Of Hymns And Spiritual Songs Vol 1

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 82538-15702
LABEL: Great Comfort
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by George Luke

A lot has been said and written about the state of worship music today (mostly about how bad it is), but rarely do the radical church complainers actually get off their butts and do something concrete to fix what they claim is wrong. For that reason alone, the guys at Bifrost Arts (a US-based sacred music non-profit organisation) deserve kudos for putting this album together. It's a simple idea; look through 400 years worth of old hymns and liturgical music, select a handful of forgotten gems and get a range of artists to give their interpretations of them. The artists include Dave Bazan from Pedro The Lion, Damien Jurado, Rosie Thomas, Denison Witmer, The Welcome Wagon (with Sufjan Stevens in tow) and Leigh Nash of Sixpence. The result is a fine collection of haunting songs somewhere between hymnody and Americana. Sadly, neither the album's Myspace page nor the label's website (nor the copy of the CD that CR loaned me in order to write this review) give any details as to who is actually singing what. I only know that the closing track, "He Never Said A Mumblin' Word" is by the Welcome Wagon because I saw/heard them sing it at Greenbelt.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I Sought The Lord [Listen]
2. It Is Finished [Listen]
3. Come, O Spirit! [Listen]
4. Jesus, Saviour, Pilot Me [Listen]
5. Just A Closer Walk [Listen]
6. Open Thou Mine Eyes [Listen]
7. The Mourner's Prayer [Listen]
8. Hard Times [Listen]
9. Kyrie [Listen]
10. Be Still My Soul [Listen]
11. How Calm And Beautiful The Morn [Listen]
12. Lord, I Believe [Listen]
13. He Never Said A Mumblin' Word [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Lenny Smith in Clarksboro, N.J. @ 21:56 on Sep 19 2009

The featured artist' name is mentioned for each song on the back of the cd case, but not on the promos.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.