Billy Graham - Billy Graham Crusades: Through The Years

Published Wednesday 1st December 2004
Billy Graham - Billy Graham Crusades: Through The Years
Billy Graham - Billy Graham Crusades: Through The Years

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 10326-9751
LABEL: Authentic 8203422
RELEASE DATE: 2004-06-04

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Peter Dilley

In 1954, Billy Graham visited the UK for the historic Crusade meetings at the Harringay Arena, and there have been many visits here since. Over the years, the rousing music of the guest soloists and huge mission choirs became almost as memorable a part of these events as the message itself, and in celebration of that 'Through The Years' draws on archive recordings from the middle quarter-century (1967-1991). A complete lack of info detailing venue, choir, soloist or instrumentalists is very poor though obviously the likes of "Shine, Jesus, Shine", "Majesty", and "There Is A Redeemer" are from the latter years, whilst the choir recordings of "It Is No Secret", "Blessed Assurance" and George Beverly Shea's "I'd Rather Have Jesus" are rather older. For posterity's sake, a final evangelistic appeal during "Just As I Am" would have encapsulated the final moments of many a crusade night (along with "If you've come with friends, they'll wait"!), but here the choir sing it uninterrupted, until "May God's Blessing" brings everything to a close in characteristic rally style. Nostalgic perhaps, but by any reckoning there's good reason to look back over those 50 years with real thankfulness. Shame about the shoddy packaging.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Majesty [Listen]
2. It Is No Secret [Listen]
3. Blessed Assurance [Listen]
4. How Great Thou Art [Listen]
5. His Eye Is On The Sparrow [Listen]
6. To God Be The Glory [Listen]
7. There's A Quiet Understanding [Listen]
8. Jesu Joy Of Mans Desiring [Listen]
9. The Lord's Prayer [Listen]
10. What A Friend We Have In Jesus [Listen]
11. Give Thanks [Listen]
12. Wonderful Words Of Life [Listen]
13. Burdens Are Lifted At Calvary [Listen]
14. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus [Listen]
15. Shine, Jesus Shine [Listen]
16. O Happy Day [Listen]
17. I'd Rather Have Jesus [Listen]
18. O For A Thousand Tongues To Sing [Listen]
19. O How I Love Jesus [Listen]
20. There Is A Redeemer [Listen]
21. Just As I Am [Listen]
22. May God's Blessing [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.

Cross Rhythms Under Threat
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Watering Hole
Be heard in your pain and needs and cry out to your God in our Prayer Room