Brothers McClurg - Join In The Sound

Published Thursday 18th October 2012
Brothers McClurg - Join In The Sound
Brothers McClurg - Join In The Sound

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 126958-19489
LABEL: Integrity 50792
RELEASE DATE: 2012-07-31
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Brendan O'Regan

The Brothers, Anthony and Chris Hoisington, attracted attention when recording as Relevant Worship. Now this debut under their own name starts rather daringly with "Tune Up", which is just that, the boys tuning up and messing in the studio. They try our patience for 48 seconds, but then all is forgiven as they launch into the title track with insistent drumbeats, jangling electric guitar, confident vocals and a catchy melody. "I Believe In Hope" has an important message, again married to a fine melody and a chorus very suitable for a worship setting. "You Shine Through" has a nice acoustic rock feel carrying an attractive metaphor - "Through the cracks in all of us/Through the fractures and our dust/ You shine through". A country flavour is introduced with the pedal steel on "From Every Stormy Wind That Blows" and vocals reminiscent of Waylon Jennings. Vinyl crackle is added, I'm not sure why, to the mellow "Come To The Fount", but the laid back approach suits the message as we are urged "Come to the water, to the water/Immerse your soul in love". As is entirely appropriate for songs about the Word, all the lyrics are crystal clear, nowhere more so that on the intimate sounding "Lean Not" and the encouraging "Alive". Theme-wise there's a lot about sin, shame, love and redemption, with all songs firmly rooted in Christ. While it ain't Shakespeare the lyrics are well crafted and one is left with a thoroughly engaging album. . . except for that indulgent intro.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Tune Up [Listen]
2. Join In The Sound [Listen]
3. I Believe In Hope [Listen]
4. You Shine Through [Listen]
5. From Every Stormy Wind That Blows [Listen]
6. Forgiven Forever [Listen]
7. Come To The Fount [Listen]
8. All Around [Listen]
9. Lean Not [Listen]
10. I Just Need You [Listen]
11. Caught In The Moment [Listen]
12. Alive [Listen]
13. Living Water [Listen]
14. Just Say [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
From a legacy that now spans three generations of music and ministry comes the band Brothers McClurg. What started out as two bands fronted by brothers Anthony and Chris Hoisington, has turned into a group of Christian brothers who share a desire to see lives changed through worship.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.