Calvary Chapel, Merritt Island, Florida, USA - Worshipping Churches: Blessed Jesus

Thursday 1st April 1993
Calvary Chapel, Merritt Island, Florida, USA - Worshipping Churches: Blessed Jesus
Calvary Chapel, Merritt Island, Florida, USA - Worshipping Churches: Blessed Jesus

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD595
RELEASE DATE: 1992-10-09
RRP: £7.99

Reviewed by Tony May

If you've been waiting for the new one from Cornerstone Church, Florida, this is it. The new name consolidates a long held link with the Calvary Chapel association of churches. This live worship album follows the superb 'Electric Praise' releases, and features some of the best of those songs and some fine new ones. The standard of songwriting is equal to anything, anywhere; the homegrown writers Leon Olguin and James Anderson offer a fine example of writing material of superb quality which can still suit a congregation's needs. The worship is of course led by Pastor Malcolm Wild (of Malcolm & Alwyn fame) and as always it's a treat to hear his understated style, devoid of any flash or cheap thrills. Highlights? Well, "Let Our God Be Magnified" is still a great song and there's a version of Leslie Phillips' gem "Strength Of My Life". Even the old warhorse "Nothing But The Blood Of Jesus" comes through like a frisky young thing. All good stuff, an exceptionally good band, first class vocalists. Probably the most mature, effective worship album around, with plenty to offer even those who normally give this genre a miss.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. In Your Presence [Listen]
2. I Will Exalt You Oh Lord [Listen]
3. Blessed Jesus [Listen]
4. Medley- The More I See You-Lord Look Upon My Needs-The Strength Of My Life [Listen]
5. Give Thanks [Listen]
6. Oh Righteous God [Listen]
7. Medley- I Desire Mercy-When I Dwell On Your Holiness [Listen]
8. Nothing But The Blood [Listen]
9. The Lord Is My Shield [Listen]
10. Medley- Great And Marvellous-Let Our God Be Magnified [Listen]
11. I Lift My Hands [Listen]
12. Quiet My Mind [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by Shadreck Lovedale in Botswana @ 07:49 on Aug 19 2017

This album is one of the most powerful worship album ever. It really blesses my soul and heart and draws me so close to God's Holy presence. The last time I heard these songs was in 1993 if am not mistaken. I was a young boy.These are song that brought a transformation in my relationship and walk with God. Very powerful and may God Almighty bless this Worship Team that sang and published these songs.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.