Chris Sligh - Mighty Roar/Healing Flood

Published Sunday 19th March 2017
Chris Sligh - Mighty Roar/Healing Flood
Chris Sligh - Mighty Roar/Healing Flood

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 164170-25010
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

Following a hiatus of four years, Arkansas-based singer/songwriter Chris Sligh's latest release has certainly been worth the wait. The thumping "Freedom Song" kicks off an album chock full of songs that take God's power and mercy as their central theme and, as he exhibited as a contestant on American Idol several years ago, it's Sligh's powerful and versatile vocals that make all the difference. Soaring with ease between full pelt performances on the likes of "All To You (Surrender)" and more tender moments in "Mystery Of Love", Sligh is at the top of his game vocally and succeeds in portraying the depth of God's love for us with sincerity and passion. Stylistically, the singer mixes electronica elements with full band performances which in turn offers up diversity in order to appeal to as wide an audience as possible but I would argue that it's when Sligh is at his most experimental - a case in point being the sublime abstract song of longing "More Of You" - that he really excels. A cameo from Kayla Bailey on "Worthy" rounds off this assured piece of work.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Freedom Song [Listen]
2. Stripes [Listen]
3. Backwards [Listen]
4. More Of You [Listen]
5. Here [Listen]
6. Worthy [Listen]
7. Your Love [Listen]
8. All To You [Listen]
9. You Are God [Listen]
10. Mystery Of Love [Listen]
11. Fill This Place [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.