Christa Wells - Frame The Clouds

Published Tuesday 18th August 2009
Christa Wells - Frame The Clouds
Christa Wells - Frame The Clouds

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 82535-15699
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Beckie Weadon

'Frame The Clouds' is the first solo release for the North Carolina-based songwriter who wrote "Held", the career-making song which established Natalie Grant. With a deep desire to say something that matters, Christa delivers a rich, deeply compelling lyrical journey through themes of forgiveness, devout love, overwhelming loss, tangible faith and everlasting hope. With her unique voice and delivery, this album, recorded at the renowned Zodlounge in Nashville, is full of compelling, memorable lyrics, wistfully poignant lead vocals and well-blended harmonies. Christa's vocal style has been likened to that of Sarah McLachlan and Sara Groves and she is the equal to both these huge talents. Guest appearances on the record are made by talented and respected friends of Christa's including Grammy Award winning producer Michael Omartian, Dove Award winners Tiffany Arbuckle Lee (Plumb) and Todd Smith of Selah and Sara Groves. A particular favourite of mine is "On The Mountain", performed with Todd Smith and Angela Jones Henry, which boasts an old-fashioned black gospel sound that just makes you want to shout while elsewhere the haunting acoustic pop sound exudes musical intelligence. Thoroughly recommended.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. You've Got A Home [Listen]
2. All The More [Listen]
3. My Best Remedy [Listen]
4. A Thousand Things [Listen]
5. Life Cost So Much Ftg Plumb [Listen]
6. Don't Call It Love Ftg Fly Golden Eagle [Listen]
7. I Want To Know That Man Ftg Nicole Witt [Listen]
8. Weightless Ftg Spencer Rogers [Listen]
9. On The Mountain Ftg Todd Smith & Angie Jones Henry [Listen]
10. Frame The Clouds Ftg Sara Groves [Listen]
11. Fly Ftg Reagan Mountain & Mandy Rogers Horton [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.