Cloud Merchants - Release

Tuesday 1st October 1996
Cloud Merchants - Release
Cloud Merchants - Release

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
LABEL: Salt CD4402
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Already toted as "the best new modern/alternative rock band to emerge from the San Diego scene" and if you knew how many thousands of guitar toting young hopefuls crowd that circuit, that's no light claim. Certainly the Cloud Merchants offer virile*, turbulent rock with plenty of discernable influences (Echo & The Bunnymen, the Alarm) but with an unusual vocalist (one Michael Van Eik) and some hard hitting songs still make an impact. Lyrics, like the bulk of those Christian bands pitching at alternative rock clubgoers, Club Merchants hint at spiritual answers rather than spell them out, while I'm not particularly keen on the retro pop rock of "1000 Ways" or the gloomy balladry of "Comfort Me". But on the full tilt guitar rock of the opener "Shout Out Loud" the impact is considerable.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Shout Out Loud [Listen]
2. It's Dark Outside [Listen]
3. Pleasure Trip [Listen]
4. Comfort Me [Listen]
5. 1000 Ways [Listen]
6. Sage [Listen]
7. Come Away [Listen]
8. Blind To It All [Listen]
9. Big Man [Listen]
10. Never Say Goodbye [Listen]
11. Prayer Song [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.