Dave Cooper - Lord's Prayer

Published Wednesday 17th October 2012
Dave Cooper - Lord's Prayer
Dave Cooper - Lord's Prayer

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 125715-19141
LABEL: Independent

This product is currently not available from Cross Rhythms Direct

Reviewed by Ewan Jones

Dave Cooper, a former roadie, vocalist with '80s metal band Scorched Earth and more recently Midlands-based rock group Badland, came to faith in Christ in May 2011. The CD inlay explains: "Within four weeks he was writing, recording and performing, every week, a new song inspired by, and to accompany, Rt Revd Dr David Carr's 13 part teaching series on the Lord's Prayer." As the project developed, Dave was able to be a part of four videos being created to accompany the tracks, receive national press attention, secure the recording of this album and take the opportunity to sing the album opener 'Lord's Prayer' to church leaders at Wembley Stadium. Quite a journey, but one that, as you listen to the album, has a sense of 'you had to be there'. The project is commendable and the tracks are accomplished enough, well played, slickly produced and Dave has one powerful voice. It's a voice that has been used to good effect in the classic rock and blues scene, but struggles here, in a more middle-of-the-road genre, to find its natural place. The music is more keys/synth led and lacks the drive and grit that Cooper's soaring voice demands. Perhaps the context of the songs' creation and Cooper's lifestyle change also intentionally distances the project from his previous work but as a listener coming cold to the CD it fails to hit the spot. Having said that, Cooper is a great talent - if he can marry his faith with his clear talent for rock and roll, there could be some great rock gospel albums to come.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lord's Prayer (Our Father) [Listen]
2. Light Of Heaven (Let There Be Light) [Listen]
3. Call Your Name [Listen]
4. Thy Kingdom Come [Listen]
5. All That I Am [Listen]
6. Soul Provider [Listen]
7. Forgive Us, Father [Listen]
8. Temptation [Listen]
9. My Deliverer [Listen]
10. Majesty [Listen]
11. Glory [Listen]
12. Eternity [Listen]
13. Amen [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version. You should not assume that products purchased through Cross Rhythms Direct will necessarily have identical track listings to those shown.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.