David Thulin - Reconstruction

Published Monday 22nd April 2013
David Thulin - Reconstruction
David Thulin - Reconstruction

STYLE: Dance/Electronic
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 137083-20433
LABEL: Dream

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Swedish-born, Minneapolis-based producer and remixer Thulin has with this, his fifth album, succeeded in taking tracks from a wide range of artists, from Canadian pop rockers Manic Drive to R&B crossover maestros Group 1 Crew, and giving them a dazzling new coat of musical paint. Nimbly avoiding the trap many remixers fall into, of removing so much from the multi-track that it becomes a skeletal and often incoherent echo of the original but still able to take multifarious tracks and give them dancefloor appeal, this is an appealing set. My particular favourites are Beckah Shae's R&B grower "Put Your Love Glasses On", transformed to dubstep; Remedy Drive's "Better Than Life" made into pure trance and with a surprise lush orchestral surge at the close; Alex Masters' "My Heart Breaking" where on the second chorus Taylor Swift-style country suddenly mutates into the hardest dubstep drop on the album; and the closing "Euphoria" trance instrumental by Thulin himself. All in all, a great example of the remixer's art.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. He Said By Group1Crew Feat. Chris August [Listen]
2. Good Times [Listen]
3. Put Your Love Glasses On [Listen]
4. Better Than Life [Listen]
5. NY2LA [Listen]
6. Vicious [Listen]
7. Dead Come To Life [Listen]
8. Feel [Listen]
9. Tell Me [Listen]
10. Hope Will Rise [Listen]
11. My Heart Breaking [Listen]
12. Come Back Home [Listen]
13. Reconstruction [Listen]
14. Euphoria [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.