Derek Minor - Empire

Published Saturday 7th November 2015
Derek Minor - Empire
Derek Minor - Empire

STYLE: Hip-Hop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 155231-22833

Reviewed by Steve Hayes

The Nashville-based Derek 'Derek Minor' Johnson Jr has made considerable inroads into the hip-hop scene and this is his fifth album (his second as Derek Minor - previously he was PRo). 'Empire' is a search for meaning and grace amid the false gods and temptations of a fallen world. With varied beats and flows and guests like Tedashii, Colton Dixon, Social Club, Canon and big star Lecrae we're treated to sub bass rumbles, epic build ups and downs and some blistering lyricism. While filled with uplifting southern bangers, the album goes beyond in tracks like "Kingdom Come" demonstrating a creativity in production and more east coast flavours in "Stranger" and the guitar lick-filled "Last Forever". It's fitting that we end where we start, with a southern blaster of "Until The End Of Time". "Christ the King in this his empire, he don't deserve no less than that."

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Intro [Listen]
2. All Hail The King (ftg Deraj & Nobigdyl) [Listen]
3. Empire (ftg Traneshia - Truth - Chiles) [Listen]
4. Who You Know [Listen]
5. Babel 1 [Listen]
6. Kingdom Come [Listen]
7. Slow Down (ftg Tony Tillman & Tedashi) [Listen]
8. Stranger (ftg Roz) [Listen]
9. Last Forever (ftg B.Cooper & Leah Smith) [Listen]
10. Save Me (ftg J.Paul) [Listen]
11. Babel 2 [Listen]
12. Fly (ftg Colton Dixon) [Listen]
13. Oceans (ftg Move Aside) [Listen]
14. Right By My Side (ftg Chad Jones, Anthony Evans Jr) [Listen]
15. Party People (ftg Social Club) [Listen]
16. Until The End Of Time (ftg Lecrae & Canon) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.