Havalina - Space Love & Bullfighting

Monday 15th July 2002
Havalina - Space Love & Bullfighting
Havalina - Space Love & Bullfighting

RATING 5 5 5 5 5
LABEL: Tooth & Nail TND38801
RELEASE DATE: 2002-06-07
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Paddy Hudspith

Pigeon-hole this if you dare! Havalina set out their stall with that quirky title, and the 13 tracks veer wildly across such territories as space rock, guitar-driven indie pop and even lounge jazz, each covered in a sprinkling of Latino-flavoured tidbits. Band leader Matt Wignall's "relaxed" vocals at times brought former Ragamuffin Mark Robertson to mind; imagine Robertson's band This Train vacationing lazily in Spain and you're in the right territory. Personal fave "Rocket Ship" got me thinking excitedly of the B-52's, but too many mid-tempo tunes plod along forgettably for this to genuinely hit the spot. On Tooth & Nail's website, the Havalina biog declares, "We honestly don't know where, how or if we fit into this modern world of over-produced music and lame trend-mongering major labels." Their determination to do something different is laudable and I truly wanted to like this but, sad to say, little here caught my attention.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Space And Mexico [Listen]
2. Losing You [Listen]
3. Lecia [Listen]
4. Pluto [Listen]
5. I Feel Nothing [Listen]
6. You Got Me Cry'n [Listen]
7. Rocket Ship [Listen]
8. Worst Days [Listen]
9. If You'd Like [Listen]
10. Bullfighter [Listen]
11. Carlos [Listen]
12. Spaces And Places [Listen]
13. Space, Love, And Bullfighting Suite [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.