Helen Sanderson-White - Fallen But Not Fatal

Published Tuesday 3rd April 2007
Helen Sanderson-White - Fallen But Not Fatal
Helen Sanderson-White - Fallen But Not Fatal

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 22156-12243
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £10.00

Reviewed by Richard Toller

Helen Sanderson-White sings beautifully, a pure voice with impressive range and power expressing the longing, regret and hope of her self-penned songs, over a backing of keyboards, electronic or piano - played by Helen Sanderson-White, who also produced the album herself. These are finely-crafted pop songs, driven home by little hooks that get under your skin. Voice, melodies and harmonies (she handles her own backing vocals) perfectly complement the lyrics that express "an aching and a longing to be loved" (to quote Martyn Joseph). There is not much overt Christian content, but, to take a few examples, "Hunger" is a song of human love that says a lot about our need for the love of God; in "Manifesto" she sings, "a little faith is what I need, a little faith can move mountains..."; the eerie "When You're Not Around" is a song of lost love that's not far from a psalm of lament. At the heart of the album is "Not Even God": a world-weary voice sings of defeat, and "'not even God would put us back where we were, and if he did we wouldn't fit anymore"' - but then "every moment is designed for our greatest good, to make you feel again, to make you real again." It's rich fare, perhaps better appreciated in small doses than listening right through in one sitting - and you do have to sit and listen to appreciate it. It might sound even better with a bigger production budget, but overall a very satisfying album for those who like their music in a minor key.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Tell Her [Listen]
2. Hunger [Listen]
3. Manifesto [Listen]
4. When You're Not Around [Listen]
5. Sweet Harmony [Listen]
6. Not Even God [Listen]
7. In This Town [Listen]
8. Start Over Tonight [Listen]
9. This Bed's Too Big [Listen]
10. Don't Tell Me [Listen]
11. Wrong Or Right [Listen]
12. I Dream Of You [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.