Hokus Pick - Brothers From Different Mothers

Wednesday 1st April 1998
Hokus Pick - Brothers From Different Mothers
Hokus Pick - Brothers From Different Mothers

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Vision Records & Entertainment FRD3409

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

With the release of the brilliant 'Snappy', now seems a good time to go back and look at the Pick's 1994 release since it gives a vital perspective on how well this band has matured over the last five years. Canada's biggest Christian band (not hard in a scene which seems even more under-resourced than Britain's!! have developed a reputation for having a wacky sense of humour (in line with the title, the sleeve notes shows pictures of the bands' mothers!) being a fine live act (they've opened for Steve Taylor, DC Talk and Steven Curtis Chapman) and purveying a crunchy melodic contemporary pop rock. Their wider success has been determined by the fact that they've been embraced by the industry capitol this is a fine album from the history lessons of "Brothers" through the energetic attack on the emptiness of TV culture in "The Finer Side" to the wonderful moodiness of "Safe Assumption". "1 Believe" is a rootsy duet with the sadly now departed Rich Mullins and "Love Stuff shows the band's rockier stuff. Overall I'm left wondering how this band aren't bigger than the late PFR since it would appear they would appeal to the same fan base - a mix of humour and great melodic rock but then the journey isn't yet over!

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I Won't Forget [Listen]
2. Brothers [Listen]
3. On My Own [Listen]
4. The Finer Side [Listen]
5. Safe Assumption [Listen]
6. No Conversation [Listen]
7. All He Wants [Listen]
8. I Believe [Listen]
9. Love Stuff [Listen]
10. Bye Bye Bye [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.